4

If Combat Celebrant is enchanted with Splinter Twin, and tapped during the Beginning of Combat portion of the Combat Phase to produce a token that is a Copy of Combat Celebrant, could this result in an indeterminant number of combat phases?

Chain of events:

  • Beginning of Combat: Tap enchanted Combat Celebrant to generate the token copy.
  • Declare Attackers: Declare the Token Copy and any number of other creatures attacking. Exert the Token Copy, untapping all other creatures including the original Combat Celebrant.
  • Declare Blockers: Opponents involvement.
  • Combat Damage: no surprises.
  • Additional Combat Phase Happens: Return to Beginning of Combat above, repeating the cycle.
3
  • 1
    I think "unlimited" or "arbitrary" may be a more appropriate word than "indeterminate", not that it's a big deal.
    – David Z
    Oct 5, 2017 at 21:20
  • @DavidZ I didn't want to say infinite/unlimited, because that really isn't a thing in Magic. I'd consider arbitrary though. Oct 5, 2017 at 23:43
  • 1
    Infinity isn't a thing in Magic, but "unlimited" is - it means that there is no limit on the number of times you can go through a loop. That being said, I personally do prefer "arbitrary". (Whereas "indeterminate" means something pretty different)
    – David Z
    Oct 6, 2017 at 1:17

1 Answer 1

9

Yes, you can have an infinite amount of combat phases with Combat Celebrant and Splinter Twin.

As long as you are exerting a new splinter twin copied Combat Celebrant each time, your enchanted Combat Celebrant will be untapped and able to create a new token. This is covered in the gatherer rulings on Combat Celebrant:

If you exert multiple Combat Celebrants in one combat phase, you’ll have that many additional combat phases, but all of your creatures are untapped only during the current combat phase. You’ll need to exert the Combat Celebrants one at a time, in multiple combat phases, to untap your attacking creatures and attack with them in each combat step.

2
  • This combo also works with Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker if you want something modern legal.
    – Malco
    Oct 5, 2017 at 16:36
  • I expected as much, just wanted to pre-empt tunnel vision. A modern legal endeavor is even better. Oct 5, 2017 at 16:39

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .