3

One of my Flagstones of Trokair is dying and I search for an Godless Shrine. Does the Godless Shrine enters play untapped when I pay the 2 life?

10

It would come into play tapped as a ruling on the card says other abilities take precedence. If you look at the Gathering page for Godless Shrine you will find your answer.

If another effect (such as Loxodon Gatekeeper’s ability) tells you to put lands onto the battlefield tapped, it enters the battlefield tapped whether you pay 2 life or not.

  • Wow so you have the choice to pay 2 life if you want to? – corsiKa Oct 8 '17 at 1:26
  • 1
    @corsiKa Yes you do. It is rarely useful though. – Autar Oct 9 '17 at 9:33
  • Yes, many a misclick made you take 2 damage for no reason back when Farseek and Shocks were in standard together – Neil Meyer Oct 9 '17 at 9:34
15

No.

If you read Godless Shrine's ability carefully, you'll notice that it doesn't say the card enters the battlefield untapped if you do pay; it says the card enters the battlefield tapped if you don't pay.

Godless Shrine only affects how the card comes into the battlefield when you don't pay; it doesn't affect how the card comes into the battlefield when you do pay.

Flagstones of Trokair causes Godless Shrine to come into play tapped, and Godless Shrine doesn't do anything about that (even if you do pay).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.