1

If my opponent uses a spell with the effect "return all nonland permanents to their owner's hand", does that include enchantments - auras?

8

Yes. A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield. An Aura attached to a permanent is therefore also a permanent, and will be returned to its owner's hand by that effect.

1
  • 1
    @Sam You should consider accepting an answer if it has solved your question. – Malco Oct 12 '17 at 13:55
7

Yes, assuming the enchantment is not also a land, it counts as a nonland permanent. It would be returned to your hand by Coastal Breach, for example.

We know that enchantments go to the battlefield when they resolve.

303.2. When an enchantment spell resolves, its controller puts it onto the battlefield under his or her control.

And finally, we know that any card on the battlefield is a permanent.

110.1. A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield. [...]

0
1

Yes, you have to return your enchantments to your hand.

They are technically nonland permenants. Section 110.1 of the rules states this.

3
  • I appreciate the help. – Sam Oct 10 '17 at 3:28
  • 3
    If you are going to mention that one section of the rules states this, it would be a good idea to include that section of the rules. – Malco Oct 10 '17 at 13:36
  • Part of the reason for quoting that section of the rules is that the rule numbering changes sometimes, and without the quote, if a removal and an addition meant rule 110.1 became rule 109.2 we'd have no idea what's being talked about here. – doppelgreener Oct 12 '17 at 15:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.