4

I know the rules for what happens when an aura that wasn't cast enters the battlefield - that aura's controller chooses something to enchant with it, and this doesn't target that something.

However, I'm confused as to what would happen if I had, for instance, a Market Festival enchanting my Forest, and then copied that Market Festival with my Mirage Mirror.

My first thought is that it would instantly fizzle with nothing to enchant since it's not entering the battlefield, and whatever a permanent is enchanting is not a copiable value of an object. Or, am I wrong in that I would get to pick a different land and enchant that with the Mirage Mirror copy? Some clarity would be greatly appreciated!

8

Your Mirage Mirror will go to your graveyard.

This is covered in the rulings on Mirage Mirror's Gatherer page:

If Mirage Mirror becomes a copy of an Aura, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard unless it’s somehow attached to an appropriate object or player already. If it becomes a copy of an Equipment and is attached to a creature, it’ll become unattached when it becomes a non-Equipment artifact again.

Which is a natural consequence of the following rule (emphasis mine):

704.5m: If an Aura is attached to an illegal object or player, or is not attached to an object or player, that Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard.

In order for the Mirage Mirror to not be moved to the graveyard you would first need to attach it to the land some other way. If you can find a way to attach Mirage Mirror to the land first, and then copy the Market Festival, the Mirage Mirror will stay attached and not go to your graveyard.

  • Recommend referencing 303.4, and explaining why it doesn't apply, since the Question is making inferences from this rule. – Drunk Cynic Oct 25 '17 at 22:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.