4

Let's say I have Brago, King Eternal, and a tapped artifact on the field, and I deal combat damage to the enemy player. Brago's ability reads:

Whenever Brago, King Eternal deals combat damage to a player, exile any number of target nonland permanents you control, then return those cards to the battlefield under their owner's control.

So, using Brago's Ability, I exile and return the artifact I control. Would it still be tapped, or would it return untapped?

7

Permanents changing zones have no memory of their previous state (meaning tapped or untapped):

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. [...]

Due to Brago's ability not invoking any additional state changes to the blinked cards, they will enter the battlefield as they normally would. This means that a Sol Ring will enter the battlefield untapped, while a Worn Powerstone would enter the battlefield tapped.

Note that other cards, such as Eldrazi Displacer, do set the state of the card re-entering the battlefield, so those cards will always enter the battlefield tapped.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.