4

Scrabble rules say thay after at least six consecutive scoreless turns the game ends.

Under North American tournament rules, the game ends when... at least six successive scoreless turns have occurred...

It is also pretty clear for me that in absolute majority of cases a scoreless turn arises from either: 1) passing; 2) exchanging tiles; 3) losing a challenge.

But can a normal turn be scoreless? Imagine that a player laid something on the board, so he/she definitely played but scored nothing. Maybe it's extremely rare, but it is a possible event, isn't it?

12

There are two blank tiles which score zero. So if you played a two letter word using a second blank tile connecting to a blank tile, then your turn would score zero even though you played a word.

Also, as Nathan has pointed out in the comments, you could play a two letter word with two blank tiles on the first turn.

  • Is it legal to play a single blank tile on the first turn? – anomaly Nov 25 '17 at 23:52
  • @anomaly: No. Words must be 2 or more letters. – Joshua Nov 26 '17 at 0:50
  • 3
    You could start off with the two blank tiles on the first turn :P – Nathan Osman Nov 26 '17 at 2:10
  • Please add the other possibility brought up by Nathan to your answer. – ikegami Nov 26 '17 at 8:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.