Scrabble rules say thay after at least six consecutive scoreless turns the game ends.

Under North American tournament rules, the game ends when... at least six successive scoreless turns have occurred...

It is also pretty clear for me that in absolute majority of cases a scoreless turn arises from either: 1) passing; 2) exchanging tiles; 3) losing a challenge.

But can a normal turn be scoreless? Imagine that a player laid something on the board, so he/she definitely played but scored nothing. Maybe it's extremely rare, but it is a possible event, isn't it?

1 Answer 1


There are two blank tiles which score zero. So if you played a two letter word using a second blank tile connecting to a blank tile, then your turn would score zero even though you played a word.

Also, as Nathan has pointed out in the comments, you could play a two letter word with two blank tiles on the first turn.

  • Is it legal to play a single blank tile on the first turn?
    – anomaly
    Nov 25, 2017 at 23:52
  • @anomaly: No. Words must be 2 or more letters.
    – Joshua
    Nov 26, 2017 at 0:50
  • 3
    You could start off with the two blank tiles on the first turn :P Nov 26, 2017 at 2:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .