7

I crew a Vehicle to block. Once it's a creature, I cast Supernatural Stamina, targeting the Vehicle. Text for Supernatural Stamina:

Until end of turn, target creature gets +2/+0 and gains "Whenever this creature dies, return it to the battlefield tapped under its owner's control."

If my Vehicle dies, does it return to the battlefield because it met its trigger by dying, or does it remain in the graveyard because the effect checks for a creature, and it's an artifact in the graveyard? If it does return, does it return as a creature until end of turn, or as an uncrewed vehicle?

8

Your vehicle will return to the battlefield, uncrewed and not a creature.

The first part is because of rule 201.5:

201.5. If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as “this [something]” to identify an object, where [something] is a characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it isn’t the appropriate characteristic at the time.

Supernatural Stamina is using "this creature" as a flavorful alternative to "this object". :)

Meanwhile, it returns as an ordinary uncrewed vehicle because of rule 400.7:

An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are nine exceptions to this rule: [None of these exceptions apply here.]

Once it returns to the battlefield, it has absolutely nothing to do with the previous crewed vehicle object that was represented by that same card. It's a brand new vehicle.

  • Re "as a flavorful alternative to "this whatever-it-is"", as a flavorful alternative to "this object". – ikegami Dec 12 '17 at 2:28
  • 3
    "There are nine exceptions to this rule" Yup. That's why we love MTG. – Silvio Mayolo Dec 12 '17 at 3:34

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.