3

It's not specified if, when pushing, does the monster need to be adjacent? Some cards say specifically adjacent some don't, so the ones that don't does that mean infinite range?

Sources with answers please!

3

Adjacency is not required for every Push. It depends on the card.

Push is an effect that is either attached to an attack (which can be ranged or melee) or is a part of another non-attack effect. Adjacency is only needed for melee attacks or for special abilities that explicitly state the requirement or imply it with a range of 1.

From Page 22 of the rules:

Attack abilities will often have effects that increase their power. If an attack effect is listed on an ability card after an attack, the target (or targets) of the attack is subject to the additional effect as well, after damage from the attack is resolved. Attack effects are applied regardless of whether the corresponding attack does damage. Some character actions can also apply these effects without an attack, and in such cases the target of the effect is written on the ability card.

The phrasing of the Push mechanic, which is considered an attack ability, is range agnostic.

PUSH X – The target is forced to move X hexes in a direction specified by the attacker, but each hex moved must place the target farther away from the attacker than it was previously. If there are no viable hexes into which to push the target, the push ends.

For an example of a ranged Push card, see the Cragheart's Crater card.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.