2

When Hellcarver Demon's ability triggers and I sac all my permanents and discard my hand then cast Second Sunrise do I have to keep track of the discarded cards? because second sunrise say s return to play all artifact, creature, enchantment and land cards that were put into the graveyard from play this turn. Since my hand was discarded I don't think it satisfies the second sunrise condition. I think I just answered my own question but I'll ask anyway to make sure I'm right.

  • As a general rule, gatherer has the most up to date wording on a card, and the text there should be looked at when you are unsure about the wording on your printed copy of the card. – Andrew Jan 12 '18 at 14:13
5

That's correct, the cards in your hand were not "in play", which is the old name for the battlefield. The current official text of Second Sunrise follows the modern wording:

Each player returns to the battlefield all artifact, creature, enchantment, and land cards in his or her graveyard that were put there from the battlefield this turn.

The cards from your hand were not put into the graveyard from the battlefield.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.