3

Does Angel of Jubilation stop people from paying life for Lim-Dûl's Vault? My understanding is that it does not, since paying life is part of the resolution of the spell, but Magic the Gathering's rules never fail to surprise, so I figured I'd ask to make sure.

6

You are correct, it does not prevent the cost to repeat the effect of vault. Angel of Jubilation specifically stops you from paying life or sacrificing creatures as a cost of casting, this is not a cast. From the rulings on Angel of Jubilation:

[Emphasis mine]

Other things may still cause players to pay life or sacrifice creatures, such as a resolving spell or ability.

What would prevent this is something like Platinum Emperion.

1
  • 1
    Just to add an example the other way, the angel would prevent someone from playing Fumarole. Note the "as an additional cost to cast" phrasing in the (oracle) rules text of the card.
    – Arthur
    Jan 15 '18 at 11:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.