5

Tidal Warrior has an ability which says:

{T}: Target land becomes an Island until end of turn.

If I use this ability to change an opponent's land to an Island, then attack with a creature that has Islandwalk, would this mean that creature can't be blocked?

5

Yes, you can do this. Islandwalk prevents a creature from being blocked as long as the defending player controls an Island1. It doesn't matter whether that Island used to be a different kind of land - after using Tidal Warrior's ability, your opponent controls an Island1, and creatures with Islandwalk cannot be blocked.


1. Note that "controls an Island" means "controls a permanent that has the subtype 'Island.'" The name of the card is irrelevant.

  • Not quite, it doesn't care about the land being an island, it cares about the land having the subtype island, there are 5 cycles of lands that are non basic but have subtypes, in addition to the two cycles of basic lands and type changing or replacing effects. – Andrew Jan 15 '18 at 3:37
  • 1
    You are correct, but what I said is not incorrect. A land with the subtype "Island" is an Island, just as a creature with the subtype "Goblin" is a Goblin. However, I agree that it is worth clarifying the difference between the subtype and the name of the card. – BJ Myers Jan 15 '18 at 3:46
  • Yes that is true, and all lands named island will have the subtype island, but for the sake of those coming to ask questions here, or find answers to questions that were already asked, it's worth being clear. – Andrew Jan 15 '18 at 3:50
  • 1
    If my opponent controls an Island enchanted with Contaminated Ground, then according to the second sentence of this answer, my Merrow Harbinger will be unblockable because the card's name is still Island. That's incorrect though, for reasons others have already tried to point out. – Rainbolt Jan 15 '18 at 17:54
  • 1
    @BJMyers I withdraw my previous comment (but I won't delete it yet, so others can see the mistake I made). I wasn't trying to be pedantic about your choice of English words - I truly thought that the answer was using incorrect game terminology. I realized I was wrong when I found this rule that totally supports your answer: 109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield. – Rainbolt Jan 16 '18 at 17:38
4

Yes.

The land was granted the Island type, and Islandwalk checks the type of the card (not its name).

702.14c A creature with landwalk can’t be blocked as long as the defending player controls at least one land with the specified subtype (as in “islandwalk”), with the specified supertype (as in “legendary landwalk”), without the specified supertype (as in “nonbasic landwalk”), or with both the specified supertype and the specified subtype (as in “snow swampwalk”). (See rule 509, “Declare Blockers Step.”)

Incidentally, that also means you can tap it for blue mana.

305.6. The basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. If an object uses the words “basic land type,” it’s referring to one of these subtypes. A land with a basic land type has the intrinsic ability “{T}: Add [mana symbol] to your mana pool,” even if the text box doesn’t actually contain that text or the object has no text box. For Plains, [mana symbol] is {W}; for Islands, {U}; for Swamps, {B}; for Mountains, {R}; and for Forests, {G}. See rule 107.4a. See also rule 605, “Mana Abilities.”

2

Correct. Islandwalk, and any other landwalk ability doesn't care why the land meets the condition, only that it does, this means Islandwalk works on any land subtyped island including:

Type changing of lands into islands was used heavily when Stormtide Leviathan was played, since the leviathan did the type changing, became unblockable, and prevented most other creatures from attacking.

Other types of landwalk exist, other than the walks for the basic land types like:

  • 1
    This is a very detailed explanation of Landwalk, but only the first 19 words address the question. – BJ Myers Jan 15 '18 at 19:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.