2

If a creature with trample attacks me and I block with a creature on which damages are prevented, will I receive extra damage over my creature toughness?

Examples: Undergrowth Champion, Wall of Shadows

5
  • Please do not change links to gatherer links because they are not compatible with non english browsers.
    – sinsedrix
    Commented Jan 28, 2018 at 16:41
  • 2
    Gather links are more friendly with browsers and what is supported by the site. There is a request on meta to use a different site for the links but as of now the links that you are using are less friendly for users as they do not by default use a popup or open a new tab.
    – Joe W
    Commented Jan 28, 2018 at 16:49
  • @JoeW, as long as you have an english browser, you don't mind about other users but gatherer links have no interest for them. I added this request on meta.
    – sinsedrix
    Commented Jan 28, 2018 at 17:15
  • You may want to consider accepting my answer if it has sufficiently answered your question.
    – Neil Meyer
    Commented Jan 29, 2018 at 11:38
  • @NeilMeyer ok, I did. I found the rule 510.1c mentioned in the duplicate usefull too.
    – sinsedrix
    Commented Jan 29, 2018 at 22:14

1 Answer 1

8

Yes, the attacking player only has to assign enough damage to the blocking creature for the attack to be lethal, that means damage equal to all the blocking creature's toughness, whether the creatures actually die from combat damage is not strictly necessary. There may be a myriad of ways in which damage may be prevented, but that does not change how the damage is assigned.

702.19b. The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures that's being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage that's actually dealt. The attacking creature's controller need not assign lethal damage to all those blocking creatures but in that case can't assign any damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking.

3
  • The rule deal with lethal damage, and in this case damage is not lethal since it's prevented. Also, damage is dealt to creature before it's dealt to player or planeswalker, so there's no remaining damage because it's prevented...
    – sinsedrix
    Commented Jan 28, 2018 at 16:37
  • 1
    @sinsedrix "lethal damage" is a game term, it doesn't actually have to kill the creature to be called "lethal damage". It says in the quote that you don't take into account abilities or effects that might prevent damage and save the creature.
    – Erik
    Commented Jan 28, 2018 at 17:27
  • @sinsedrix, Re "in this case damage is not lethal since it's prevented.", Read again. "When checking for assigned lethal damage, take into account damage already marked on the creature and damage from other creatures that's being assigned during the same combat damage step, but not any abilities or effects that might change the amount of damage that's actually dealt."
    – ikegami
    Commented Jan 29, 2018 at 1:03

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .