What is the difference between a knight and a meeple in carcassonne? What about the big Meeple? Can he count as a knight?

2 Answers 2


The meeples are any of the roles in the game. Knight, thief, farmer or monk. The big one counts as two.

  • Ok, this makes sense. But two questions to clarify: 1) is the wagon a meeple (it can fill almost all roles); 2) Do you have a link where this is clearly explained? In the rules we have here, this is not so clearly described...
    – BobMorane
    Feb 11, 2018 at 0:38
  • This seems to be explained here (French): lecoindujeu.com/jeu-de-societe/carcassonne
    – BobMorane
    Feb 11, 2018 at 2:22

A meeple is a humanoid-shaped physical object.

You will find in the box 40 regular meeples, including 8 meeples in each of these colors: yellow, red, green, blue, and black.


They were called "followers" in earlier versions of the game/rules.

"Knight" is one of the roles the meeple can occupy. A meeple in a city is called a knight.

Placing a meeple as a knight

Then, you see if there is already a meeple as a knight in the city. Here, there isn’t, so you can place one of your meeples as a knight in this city.

Other roles include highwayman (on a road), monk (in a monastary) and farmer (in a field).

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .