What is the difference between a knight and a meeple in carcassonne? What about the big Meeple? Can he count as a knight?


The meeples are any of the roles in the game. Knight, thief, farmer or monk. The big one counts as two.

  • Ok, this makes sense. But two questions to clarify: 1) is the wagon a meeple (it can fill almost all roles); 2) Do you have a link where this is clearly explained? In the rules we have here, this is not so clearly described... – BobMorane Feb 11 '18 at 0:38
  • This seems to be explained here (French): lecoindujeu.com/jeu-de-societe/carcassonne – BobMorane Feb 11 '18 at 2:22

A meeple is a humanoid-shaped physical object.

You will find in the box 40 regular meeples, including 8 meeples in each of these colors: yellow, red, green, blue, and black.


They were called "followers" in earlier versions of the game/rules.

"Knight" is one of the roles the meeple can occupy. A meeple in a city is called a knight.

Placing a meeple as a knight

Then, you see if there is already a meeple as a knight in the city. Here, there isn’t, so you can place one of your meeples as a knight in this city.

Other roles include highwayman (on a road), monk (in a monastary) and farmer (in a field).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.