0

This question already has an answer here:

My opponent has Captivating Crew in play.

They activate the ability to take control of one of my creatures.

In response I play Perilous Voyage and bounce the Captivating Crew back to their hand.

Do they still gain control of my creature?

marked as duplicate by BJ Myers, Andrew, doppelgreener, Malco, Joe W Feb 13 '18 at 22:12

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

4

Yes, they still gain control of your creature.

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won't affect the ability.

This is the same for any sort of ability; removing the source does nothing to the ability itself.

  • 1
    Caveat: In a multiplayer game, if the player who owns the ability loses while it's on the stack, the ability goes away. So in that sense it doesn't exist entirely independently of its source. – Arthur Feb 14 '18 at 9:28
  • @Arthur, You merely demonstrated it doesn't exist independently of its owner. As the rules say, it exists independently of its source. – ikegami Feb 14 '18 at 20:10

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.