Scenario, at the start of my turn I roll the dice and land on “Go to jail”.

If I have a “get out of jail free” card, can I play that immediately so my piece does not move, or do I go to jail and must wait for the start of my next turn to play the card.

  • 1
    Logically, one can't really "get OUT of jail" if he's not already IN jail.
    – goldPseudo
    Feb 24, 2018 at 7:59

1 Answer 1


You move your piece to Jail and must wait until the next turn to play the card.

The official rules only talk about using "Get Out of Jail Free" in one place:

You get out of Jail by... (1) throwing doubles on any of your next three turns; if you succeed in doing this you immediately move forward the number of spaces shown by your doubles throw; even though you had thrown doubles, you do not take another turn; (2) using the “Get Out of Jail Free” card if you have it; (3) purchasing the “Get Out of Jail Free” card from another player and playing it; (4) paying a fine of $50 before you roll the dice on either of your next two turns.

There is nothing in the rules that suggests you can use this card to avoid going to Jail.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .