Can an enchantment creature with hexproof be targeted by a spell that destroys enchantments. For example, can Archetype of Endurance be targeted by Naturalize?


No. Hexproof prevents something from being targeted by opponents' spells and abilities — that's pretty final. You can't target Archetype of Endurance with Naturalize because you can't target it at all; there's nothing special about enchantment removal.

(If you're thinking hexproof is a creature thing, and we're getting around it by targeting their enchantment-enss instead of their creature-ness, that's not how things work in M:tG. Note also that anything can have hexproof: enchantments, players, or even every permanent you control.)

You get around this by doing things that don't target the creature: Dead Drop, Toxic Deluge, Settle the Wreckage, are examples of the kinds of non-targeting effects you'd use, or a plain old Wrath of God effect. Or kill it in combat.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.