3

I was playing Carcassonne with both the Traders & Builders and the Princess & Dragon expansions. Traders & Builders adds the builder meeple, which gives a bonus turn if a tile is added to a city or road the builder is on. Princess & Dragon adds the fairie, which can be moved if you do not place or move a meeple on your turn.

Let's say I place a tile onto a city (or road) which has my builder in it, and place a meeple on this new tile. This gives me a bonus turn. I place a second tile (anywhere else, it doesn't matter), but don't place a meeple on it. Can I move the fairie, since I didn't place a meeple on the second tile? Or, does placing the meeple on the first tile count as moving a meeple for the purposes of the fairie. Alternatively, let's say I moved the fairie after placing the first tile; am I now prohibited from placing a meeple on the second tile?

One advantage of the fairie is that it gives you a point at the beginning of your turn if you control it. The rules for Princess & Dragon explicitly state that you don't get 2 points if you get a bonus turn from the builder, but don't say anything about the situation above, that I could see.

4

A player may move the fairy instead of placing a follower.

A player can move the fairy on the placement of the first tile, the second tile, or both.

A player can only score the one point when the turn begins. The "double turn" is a continuation of the turn, not the beginning of a new turn. Therefore a player cannot move the fairy on the first tile and then score the one point.

  • I agree with this answer, it's not a second turn, but a second tile in the first tun. – IronWilliamCash Mar 8 '18 at 14:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.