4

My piece was on Mayfair [Boardwalk in US version]. After moving, I passed GO and landed on the Chance along Kingcross station [Reading Railroad in US version].

The Chance card reads "go to Pall Mall [St. Charles Place in US version] and if you pass GO collect £200 [$200 in US version]".

Can I collect £200 [$200 in US version] since I did pass go before landing on the chance space? What location is the Chance card concerned with? My original space (Mayfair) or the current Chance space?

  • 1
    I've proposed an edit adding the US equivalents to this question, so that people who are familiar with the original version can understand your question better. – Acccumulation Mar 13 '18 at 16:08
  • @Acccumulation - As long as you're doing that, I'll propose an edit to the currency too. It's been bugging me that this question talks about Mayfair and Pall Mall, but then mentions $200 rather than £200! – AndyT Mar 16 '18 at 15:29
14

The idea is, that you move clockwise (the normal direction) on the board until you reach your destination. If you passed Go, you collect the $200. If you did not pass Go, you did not collect $200.

In your case:

You are on Mayfair, rolled 8 and land on Chance. You passed Go, so you collect $200. Next the card sends you to Pall Mall. In this case, you did not pass Go, so you did not collect (another) $200.

enter image description here

And of course, you need to stop when you reach the destination for the first time (you can not go around the board several times to collect several times $200 ;-) ).

| improve this answer | |
  • It is clearly written on the board : «COLLECT $200 SALARY AS YOU PASS GO», not «... AFTER YOU HAVE PASSED GO» (capitalised in the original). – Robert Miller Dec 13 '19 at 14:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.