0

I had Necroskitter out and my opponent has Clone which cloned some 3/3 monster. I play Puncture Blast to kill it. I believe that I get Clone card because of the following steps

  1. Cast puncture bolt
  2. Target Clone creature
  3. Opponent has no response so there for it dies
  4. Because it has -1/-1 counter when it was sent to the graveyard it triggers my Necroskitter
  5. I get to put Clone into my battlefield

I believe I am right but my friend says that [Clone][2] comes back as 0/0 as therefore dies. Who is right?

5
  • 1
    You would be better off separating this into two questions. Stack Exchange encourages each question to have it's own individual post. – Arcanist Lupus Mar 8 '18 at 6:40
  • Oh I didn't know that but I understand the reasoning for it. I'll do my best to remember that for future questions on all boards. – LampPost Mar 8 '18 at 7:10
  • 1
    A lot of forums encourage question collation in order to save space, but Stack Exchange's primary priority is to provide a searchable database of answers, which is why the "one question per post" rule is preferred. – Arcanist Lupus Mar 8 '18 at 7:14
  • So would it be best to do that for this question right now? – LampPost Mar 8 '18 at 7:15
  • Edit out the second question, and then repost it as a new question. Or better yet, don't repost it at all, because it would just get closed as a duplicate of this question – Arcanist Lupus Mar 8 '18 at 7:22
2

I believe I am right but my friend says that Clone comes back as 0/0 as therefore dies. Who is right?

You are correct.

Clone's ability reads

You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.

This ability applies any time Clone enters the battlefield. The person who controls Clone (in this case you) gets to choose a creature to copy as it enters the battlefield. It will not die.

1
  • More precisely, the ability applies any time Clone would enter the battlefield. Assuming that the ability is used and a valid option exists, "Clone" never enters the battlefield, the copy does instead. – Kamil Drakari Mar 9 '18 at 18:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.