4

This is from a game between two high-ranking professionals I saw on TV. Hopefully I copied it right.

There doesn't quite seem to be enough from after W1. Let me show you [1]:

$$Wc
$$ . . . . . . . . . . |
$$ . . . X . . . . . . |
$$ . O X . X . . . 1 . |
$$ . . . . . . X . X . |
$$ . . . . . . . X X . |
$$ . X . . X X X O X O |
$$ . . . X O O O O O O |
$$ . . . . X . . . X . |
$$ --------------------|

If Black moves first, perhaps there's not enough from after B2 and W3 ?

$$Wc
$$ . . . . . . . . . . |
$$ . . . X . . . . . . |
$$ . O X . X . . . O . |
$$ . . . . . . X . X . |
$$ . . . . . . . X X . |
$$ . X . 3 X X X O X O |
$$ . . . X O O O O O O |
$$ . . . . X 2 . . X . |
$$ --------------------|

If White has just a little bit more time, we can put a white stone at A. Not even.

$$c
$$ . . . . . . . . . . |
$$ . . . X . . . . . . |
$$ . O X . X . . . O . |
$$ . . . . . . X . X . |
$$ . . . . . . . X X . |
$$ . X . . X X X O X O |
$$ . . . X O O O O O O |
$$ . . . . X 2 . . X . |
$$ --------------------|

So what are they thinking?

  • You say a White stone at A, but you have not marked A; perhaps you mean 2? – PJTraill Mar 15 '18 at 12:20
  • P.S. If you meant A15, perhaps you should add a c to your diagram headers to show the coördinates. It would also be interesting to know what happened next in the game – or was it just a snippet on a random news item? Anyway, like you, I have difficulty understanding what is going on. Maybe 1 makes a ko threat, but I do not know if that is relevant. The entire position (in the linked image) looks fairly complicated. – PJTraill Mar 15 '18 at 12:39
  • @PJTraill as far as I can tell... White is dead. and maybe it's trying to put in some aji... would you like me to link you to the video?? [ here ] – john mangual Mar 15 '18 at 15:33
  • It would indeed be worth linking to the video in your question. I see there that the B stone at Q5 was played after W 1. There is also a ko-fight going on at 12x{I,J}, so moves may be ko-threats; after Q5, White connects the ko, so he has ignored a Black threat. At 1:26:40 W apparently resigns during a countdown; this can also mean that previous moves were setting the scene for resignation: see my question What is looking for a place to resign in go? and senseis.xmp.net/?HowToResign. – PJTraill Mar 15 '18 at 17:40
  • Having added coördinates to your diagrams, I realise that I wrote A15 when I meant P1! – PJTraill Mar 15 '18 at 21:51
1

To answer the original question: White's corner is unconditionally dead, it cannot be rescued even with White playing first. The points P1 and R1 are miai, when White takes one of them Black takes the other.

In the actual game White uses the aji left in the corner for some Ko threats, that's all White can get out of the local situation.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.