Ok so I was playing against the AI (Star Realms Android app) today and every time I played a card that should have had my opponent discarding ( Imperial Fighter), it instead made ME discard as I played the card. In addition, the AI still drew 5 cards at the start of their turn. This has to be a bug, right?

  • 3
    I can't answer directly without seeing what happened, but here are some things you might have backwards that might clear this up. 1) Players draw 5 at the end of their turn, not the beginning. 2) Discarding never affects how many cards you draw; you always draw the full amount and then choose which to discard. 3) In the app, discards happen at the start of the opponent's turn rather than immediately (presumably they changed this rule to speed up async games), so if it's working correctly then no player should discard immediately when you play the Fighter. Commented Mar 16, 2018 at 20:39
  • 1
    If you believe there is a bug you should probably contact the developers as i'm not sure this is a question that can be answered here. The above comment is correct about players drawing 5 cards at end of there turn. However when you play a card that caused opponent to have to discard you should see a grey arrow pointing down appear by there cards showing the number that they will discard. That might help explain whats going on. Commented Mar 16, 2018 at 22:31
  • 3
    If you were playing the campaign, make sure you read the `rules´ page as some of them break the normal rules of Star Realms and it isn´t always immediately obvious what is going on.
    – Erik
    Commented Mar 19, 2018 at 20:12
  • You draw cards at the end of your turn, not at the start. This allows you to discard cards when your opponent cards say so. If you were drawing them at start of your turn most of the time you would have nothing to discard. Commented Mar 20, 2018 at 5:19

1 Answer 1


The campaign game changes some of the rules, depending on which mission you are playing.

For example, on Mission 3 "A test of strength (hard)", the rules are

[...] If you would make your opponent discard a card, you gain 2 Authority instead. [...]

I'm pretty sure you were playing a mission with special rules.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .