15

If Alice draws an Exploding Kitten which she tries to Defuse, can Bob Nope that, making the kitten explode and eliminate Alice?


At the time of asking, I had only played it once, an hour before. As it wasn't my own game, I had no access to the rule book leaflet.

  • 22
    Not sure why this is +6. It is pretty much the epitome of "This question doesn't show any research effort?" – Kevin Mar 20 '18 at 17:21
  • 10
    @Kevin Well it's +6 for 1,962 views. I'm thinking that "exploding kittens" and "can I nope a defuse?" are attracting amused viewers from the hot questions list. – Dronz Mar 20 '18 at 19:25
  • 2
    @Dronz maybe I'll post "How many dice do you roll in Monopoly?" and see how many views and upvotes I get. As a test, or course. Not in any way to reap cheap reputation points – Kevin Mar 20 '18 at 20:29
  • 2
    @Kevin Try that one and the same question about Cat-opoly and of Monopoly: Cat Lovers' Edition, and see how they each do. – Dronz Mar 20 '18 at 21:13
  • 2
    @Kevin I saw a question about keeping your hand secret and now I feel a bit less bad about this question. – SQB Mar 22 '18 at 8:25
40

Nope.

From the rules

Nope

Stop any action except for an Exploding Kitten or a Defuse Card. Imagine that any card (or Pair or Special Combo ) beneath a Nope Card no longer exists

You can not nope a defuse card.

  • 6
    Huh. Must have missed that. Didn't feel right, though, so we didn't allow it. – SQB Mar 20 '18 at 12:38
  • 1
    You can always blame the kitten. – Toon Krijthe Mar 20 '18 at 12:46
  • 1
    We house-ruled this in for fun. Definitely consider who you're playing with if you choose to do so. – Seiyria Mar 20 '18 at 13:20
  • So can you Nope your own draw? – Acccumulation Mar 20 '18 at 18:17
  • @Acccumulation, the second part states "any card" so it does not counter a draw. – Toon Krijthe Feb 28 at 8:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.