I am trying to get a better understanding of the basic rules of Go. Assume that black has surrounded a white group of stones which has exactly one eye (liberty) inside the group.
What would happen if black placed a stone into this eye? All the white stones will be captured, but what happens to the black one placed into the eye?
I guess my question revolves around the question how capturing is checked after a move. Is it the non-active player's stones first and then the active player's or both at the same time?