Can you open with 5 wild cards, then use a sixth to put with a pair?

My partner needed 155 points and this is the only way they could open.

  • 1
    What do you mean by your partner needing 155 points? That's not one of the possible values of a minimum meld. – GendoIkari Apr 4 '18 at 13:05
  • We start at 125, the. 155, then 180. Canasta – Notty Apr 4 '18 at 13:23
  • Just a house rule? – GendoIkari Apr 4 '18 at 13:29


Any valid meld in Canasta needs to have at least 2 naturals in it, so wilds by themselves are not enough.

From Bicycle:

A meld is valid if it contains at least two natural cards of the same rank - aces down to fours inclusive - and not more than three wild cards. Jokers and deuces may never be melded apart from natural cards.

Note that there is a variation of this rule that is seen in some places; according to canasta.net:

However, there may never be more wildcards than natural cards within one meld.

In most situations, these 2 rules work the same way; they both mean that a meld of 3 -7 cards must have at least as many naturals as wilds.

The difference is that one of the rules allows you to add a 4th wild to a Canasta that has 4 naturals and 3 wilds, while the other does not, but this rarely could matter, as you can likely just add that wild somewhere else instead if you need to.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.