I was looking at Etali, Primal Storm, and one of the rulings listed surprised me; the card didn't work the way I thought it would based on the wording.
Whenever Etali, Primal Storm attacks, exile the top card of each player's library, then you may cast any number of nonland cards exiled this way without paying their mana costs.
And the ruling:
Any cards not cast, including land cards, remain in exile. They can’t be cast on later turns, even if Etali attacks again.
I expected "cards exiled this way" to mean "cards exiled by Etali, Primal Storm's ability". Meaning that if I exiled a card by attacking this turn, and exiled a second card by attacking next turn, then both those cards would have been "exiled this way".
However, based on that ruling, it seems that "exiled this way" means "exiled by the resolution of the current instance of this ability".
Either of the two readings seem like they are valid interpretations based on the English meaning of the words. So it there a comprehensive rule that backs up that ruling; where "this way" is defined?
It would be really nice if all Gatherer rulings included a citation for a comprehensive rule that backs up the ruling.