I've dueled with an opponent that had an Exodia deck draw-based. It happens that he managed to draw Exodia, but in the same time that he decked out. Which win condition has priority? Exodia "effect" or deck out?


The deck out is irrelevant. The player drawing Exodia (and presumably completing the set in hand) has already won the duel.

Even if the player has not completed Exodia in hand, they do not lose until they are required to draw and are unable to draw. They may sit with an empty deck until next draw phase if there is nothing else to cause the duel to end.

  • 1
    This answer would be improved if it included a link to the rules, say: yugioh-card.com/uk/rulebook/Rulebook_v9_en.pdf with page number of the rule (page 28). – Mosquite Apr 17 '18 at 22:34
  • 1
    The rule book doesn't explain the priority of endgame conditions, nor is it unambiguous (it says "unable to draw a card" which is a much looser condition than "unable to draw and required to draw, at the same time" there are situations where the loose condition ends the game but the tighter one would not). I think it causes greater confusion by adding the rulebook than leaving it out. @Mosquite – Nij Apr 17 '18 at 22:39
  • My thought was that having a source for your answer would be better than just saying "this is the way it is". – Mosquite Apr 17 '18 at 23:12
  • 2
    @DonFusili In that case, such effect that says "draw 2 cards" cannot be activated, because it does not meet the requirement of having at least 2 cards to draw. If you only have one card left, it can only be drawn if an effects says "draw 1 card" – DarkCygnus Apr 18 '18 at 21:40
  • 1
    @DonFusili also say for example you had a hand destruction in hand (both players discard 2 then draw 2) and your opponent only had 1 card in deck, hand destruction would not be able to be activated – WhatsThePoint Apr 20 '18 at 13:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.