3

player A and B are in battle

1- player A plays Odin's Smite card(Destroy one warrior from each opponent in this province before comparing STR) and player B plays Heimdall's Watch card(Discard all revealed cards. Gain glory equal to the total +STR revealed. Then Play new cards) Now what happen ? Which card will be used ?

2- player A plays Thor's Primacy card (Cancel the text of each opponent's reveled card before it takes effect) and player B plays Heimdall's Watch card (Discard all revealed cards. Gain glory equal to the total +STR revealed. Then Play new cards) Now wha happen ? which card will be used ?

3- player A plays Thor's Primacy card (Cancel the text of each opponent's reveled card before it takes effect) and player B plays Odin's Smite card (Destroy one warrior from each opponent in this province before comparing STR) what happen now ? which card will be used ?

2

The wording on Thor's Primacy makes it clear that it happens first, because it cancels the other cards' text before their text takes effect.

Heimdall's Watch clearly has to happen before any "normal" cards, otherwise it would be pointless. "normal" here meaning any card which doesn't specifically affect other cards.

I can see that it's not crystal clear which would take priority out of the two of these cards, but the use of the word "Primacy" meaning first or most important, and the fact that it specifically says "before" other cards, means that it takes precedence.

So it would make sense if the order of priority was:

  1. Thor's Primacy
  2. Heimdall's Watch
  3. Any other card

This is backed up by this link and this link from boardgamegeek, where Thiago Aranha, apparently one of the game's producers, gives them the same priority.

-2

The cards are to be resolved starting from the pillager and moving clockwise in the following order. CDE where C - cancel cards D - discard cards E - every other normal cards

3
  • Can you cite anything to back up that this is how it works, such as a section in the rulebook? May 9 '18 at 8:37
  • It can't be both "starting from the pillager and moving clockwise" and "C then D then E". In the vast majority of cases those will be contradictory.
    – AndyT
    May 9 '18 at 14:42
  • This applies only to "Some special Battle cards [that] can be used to further increase the Strength of your troops even after players have revealed their cards.... The pillaging player has the first chance to add Strength from one of these special cards, and it proceeds clockwise around the table from there until nobody wants to play any. " Heimdall's Eye is an example. (page 18) . In the example above this type of card would be #4 in order. May 16 '18 at 21:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.