This occurred during a game of Sheriff of Nottingham, during the "negotiation" phase between two other players.
I was going to lie to the sheriff and put illegal goods in my bag, however I was not going to bribe the sheriff. When I offered my bag, the sheriff said to me "If you give me an offering I will not search it." So I decided to add a bribe on top of my bag, as play allows. Then, the sheriff decided to search the bag since I had reached to offer him something.
According to the rules, is this kind of game-play legal?