1

Let's say I have a Sosuke, Son of Seshiro and a Matsu-Tribe Sniper on my field.

Sosuke's ability is:

Whenever a Warrior you control deals combat damage to a creature, destroy that creature at end of combat.

and Matsu-Tribe Sniper's (which is a "Snake warrior archer") effect is:

{T}: Matsu-Tribe Sniper deals 1 damage to target creature with flying.

(only listing the relevant effect for this question)

If I tap Matsu-Tribe Sniper to deal 1 damage to let's say Courier Griffin, which is a 2/3 flying creature, would that destroy Courier Griffin because a warrior dealt damage? Or does that not count as combat damage? I'm pretty sure this isn't how that works but I would like a second opinion.

9

The damaged creature will not be destroyed.

"Combat damage" is a specific subcategory of damage. The only way to deal Combat damage is during the combat damage step in the combat phase of a turn. From the Glossary in the comprehensive rules:

Combat Damage

Damage dealt during the combat damage step by attacking creatures and blocking creatures as a consequence of combat. See rule 510, “Combat Damage Step.”

Any other damage dealt, such as from the activated ability of Matsu-Tribe Sniper, is just damage; it is not "combat damage". Even if it took place during the combat step; it wasn't damage that was dealt as a result of attacking or blocking.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.