3

So to be clear, Nekusar, the Mindrazer only hits players with the newest rules change and no longer can hit Planeswalkers?

5

Correct.

Most cards that previously dealt damage to a player received errata to allow them to target a player or planeswalker, but as Nekusar’s ability is not targeted; the standard errata wouldn’t have made as much sense (mostly because you don’t choose or target a player).

You can see the current wording of any card in Gatherer; the wording there is what counts. And with the planeswalker damage redirection rule change; the question is simple for any card; because cards that can damage planeswalkers will specifically say so (or they will say "any target").

  • 3
    When in doubt, look at the text in Gatherer. Gatherer lists the official, most up-to-date card text, so if a card can damage planeswalkers it will say so (or say "any target") – Arcanist Lupus May 14 '18 at 3:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.