3

If Prey Upon is used on Bonded Horncrest, will it be able to "attack alone" ? Is this the same for Bonded Horncrest being the target of Savage Stomp and the Cherished Hatchling's ability?

p.s. If Prey Upon is used on Snapping Sailback, will it get a +1/+1 counter? and I assume the +1/+1 counter enters after the fight/dmg has been dealt, right?

4

If Prey Upon is used on Bonded Horncrest, will it be able to "attack alone"?

No, it won't. Prey Upon is a spell that makes creatures fight each other. Fight is a keyword:

701.12. Fight

701.12a A spell or ability may instruct a creature to fight another creature or it may instruct two creatures to fight each other. Each of those creatures deals damage equal to its power to the other creature.

I assume you got confused by the wording on the cards, but fighting has absolutely nothing to do with the combat phase. If a creature (such as Bonded Horncrest) cannot attack alone, it means that it cannot be the only creature declared as an attacker in the "declare attackers" step of the combat phase.

p.s. If Prey Upon is used on Snapping Sailback, will it get a +1/+1 counter?

Assuming Snapping Sailback survives the damage it was dealt, then yes, it gets a +1/+1 counter.

and I assume the +1/+1 counter enters after the fight/dmg has been dealt, right?

That's correct.

| improve this answer | |
  • So will Bonded Horncrest be able to fight when Prey Upon (or Cherised Hatchling ability) is used on it? Even though it's the only creature (of your own *edit) to fight in that moment. Since it's "fighting" and not "attacking or blocking". – dino May 18 '18 at 13:05
  • Yes. As I said, fighting and attacking are two different mechanics. A creature that cannot attack for any reason (maybe it has Defender or it has been enchanted by Faith's Fetters) can still fight other creatures. – J. Sallé May 18 '18 at 13:08
  • No problem at all, friend. Glad I could help. I suggest you take some time to read through the Comprehensive Rules if you're a new player. You don't need to read all of it, but the "General" rule of each rule section will give you a good grasp of what that section is about, and it'll surely improve your general understanding of the game's mechanics. – J. Sallé May 18 '18 at 13:18
  • 2
    I respectfully disagree with @J.Salle, if you are a new player, you should read the Basic Rules: media.wizards.com/2014/docs/EN_M15_QckStrtBklt_LR_Crop.pdf The comprehensive rules are for later.... – John May 18 '18 at 13:42
  • 1
    Yes, there's also the Basic Rules! They're indeed a better resource for a newer player to read. Thanks John! – J. Sallé May 18 '18 at 13:44

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.