6

It says in the rule book that you can only take 2 gems of the same kind only if there'll be at least 4 chips left after you take the 2. Since you only have 4 chips for two players and 5 chips for three players, is the ability to take 2 gems of the same kind reserved for four players only?

  • 1
    Re "if there'll be at least 4 chips left after you take the 2", No, it says if there are at least 4 chips left when you take 2. – ikegami May 19 '18 at 0:39
10

You are reading the rules incorrectly, they says when there are 4 chips at the start of your turn not after you take them. The rules don't care how many gems are in a stack after you have taken them just beforehand.

Rules

Collect Gem Chips – Either:Take 1 Gem from each of 3 different stacks (not gold)
1: Take 2 Gems from one stack, as long as there are 4 or more chips in that stack

In a 4 player game there can be 3 chips missing at the start of your turn, 3 player 1 chip missing and 2 player no chips missing.

Testing on the iOs version of the game lets me draw two chips of the same color from a stack when there is exactly 4 chips on it in a two player game.

  • Oh, okay. I guess I just misunderstood the rules, since that rule was kind of ambiguously worded in the English version. So, for example, if 2 players were playing and the first player takes 2 diamonds from the original 4, the second player wouldn't be able to do the same feat and take the remaining 2 diamonds left. Is that correct? – Fender Orcajo May 18 '18 at 17:55
  • @FenderOrcajo yep when reading the rules online (don't have my copy with me) it is a bit confusing how they did that section with two lines. – Joe W May 18 '18 at 17:56
  • @FenderOrcajo I tested on the iOs version and it let me draw two chips from a stack in a 2 player game when there was 4 chips on the stack. – Joe W May 18 '18 at 18:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.