4

During a recent game, my opponent Suspended two Rift Bolt in the same turn. Then, during my turn, I played a Damping Sphere.

The way we resolved it, is that at the next turn, my opponent payed 1 for the second Rift Bolt.
I'm not sure if this is correct, because the rule text for supspend says that when you remove the last suspend counter you cast the spell without paying its mana cost. So, to me, it sounds like even if the cost was increased, one still does not need to pay for it.

What's the correct thing to do?
If actually one needs to pay for the second suspended spell, what would happen if he can't?

  • Thanks for the edit, I didn't know about the [mtg:] link trick :) – Orsogufo May 19 '18 at 7:15
4

The first Rift Bolt costs {0} to cast, and the second costs {1}.


The total cost to cast a spell
= mana cost or alternative cost
+ additional costs and cost increases
- cost reductions

Suspend allows spells to be cast for the alternative cost of "free". Cost increases, such as the one from Damping Sphere, still apply.[1]

If you can't cast it (because you can't or choose not to produce the mana for it), it will remain exiled indefinitely.


  1. Only Trinisphere modifies the total cost.
  • Ok, thanks... so if one cannot pay for the second rift bolt, it would just fizzle? – Orsogufo May 19 '18 at 7:16
  • 1
    "Fizzle" usually means "countered (by the rules) for not having any valid targets". That's not the case here. Note that Suspend says "When the last time counter is removed from this card, if it’s exiled, play it without paying its mana cost if able." The Riftbolt wouldn't even be cast, and it would be permanently stuck in exile (unless you have a way of adding time counters to an exiled card, or unless you use something like a Ring of Three Wishes). – ikegami May 19 '18 at 7:18
  • Ah, yes, I've found the relevant section of the rules: 702.61a -> If you can’t, it remains exiled. – Orsogufo May 19 '18 at 7:20
  • 1
    @ikegami The casual definition of “fizzle” is changed now; because it would no longer be countered. – GendoIkari May 19 '18 at 14:34
0

You still have to pay the taxman. (If you want your spells cast)

When a card comes of suspend you cast it without paying its mana cost, but any additional costs, like these 'tax' cost, still need to be paid if you want to cast your spells.

If the mana is in your mana pool then you must pay these additional costs, you can choose to not tap your mana which makes the paying of the tax impossible. If you choose not to pay the tax the spell will remain in exile with no way to be cast.

  • that is news to me, where is that rule from? – Neil Meyer May 19 '18 at 8:53
  • ok, will edit.. – Neil Meyer May 19 '18 at 8:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.