2

For example, assume that both my opponent and I have a face-up creature with Morph on the battlefield.

I cast Ixidron and it enters the battlefield.

Can both creatures be turned face-up again later in the game, by paying the Morph cost, even though they weren't turned face-down "normally"?

5

Yes, you can.

It doesn't matter how a creature got turned face-down. All morph cares about is that the creature is indeed face-down. Face-down is a status like e.g. tapped/untapped.

110.6. A permanent’s status is its physical state. There are four status categories, each of which has two possible values: tapped/untapped, flipped/unflipped, face up/face down, and phased in/phased out. Each permanent always has one of these values for each of these categories.

702.36a Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. [..]

  • 1
    Note that if those creatures do not have morph, then there is normally no way to make them turn face-up again by themselves. You will have to use other cards to turn them back, or make them leave the battlefield and return (in which case they will return face-up unless explicitly told otherwise). – Arthur May 22 '18 at 10:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.