8

When playing a spell card such as Searing Spear. Where the card deals 3 damage to target creature "or" Player. Who decides what the "or" effects? The player casting the card or the opponent receiving the effect of the card?

  • Read it as "target (creature or player)" – ikegami May 26 '18 at 7:49
16

When a card says "target [something] or [something else]", the "or" is part of the target description. While you are casting the spell, you choose the target, and the chosen target can be either one of those things. In the case of that specific wording, that means that you can choose either a creature or a player as the spell's target.

Note: The specific card you referenced, Searing Spear, has had errata as of the release of the set Dominaria. It now says

Searing Spear deals 3 damage to any target.

And "any target" just means "target creature or player or planeswalker". Many other cards had similar changes.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.