4

My kids are having a debate about how Trouble should work. If you land on a Double Trouble, you are granted a second turn. Do you have to move the peg that is on the Double Trouble spot, or can you move any peg?

The instructions don't say, but I could see it either way:

  • it's just another turn, so any peg could be moved
  • you got the turn by virtue of the peg that landed there, so it's another turn for that peg, specifically

Note: this game doesn't seem to be tagged here, and I can't find a generic "board game" or similar tag. Someone with more rep should feel free to better categorize this.

3
  • 3
    I've not found a rules source that references taking extra turns. I've found rules at hasbro.com/common/instruct/Trouble,_Double.pdf but they don't refer to extra goes. What I would suggest is checking your rules and seeing if 'turn' is defined anywhere and thats what an extra turn is. Your second suggestion to me has a feel of someones house rule that they they were taught or a rule is being made up on the spot! If an extra turn was for a specific peg then thats the sort of thing which should be explicitly stated in the rules. If its not then its probably not the rule Commented Jun 2, 2018 at 17:18
  • Interestingly, those instructions don't look like our board, and the regular Trouble one doesn't mention the double spot! I'll look at the rules more closely; good idea. We are talking a 9 and 7 year old, and the elder was making the calls, so it could very well be a "house rule." I just couldn't solve it for them and decided to bring it here :)
    – Hendy
    Commented Jun 3, 2018 at 16:52
  • When I was that age who claimed in chess he could talk an 'extended move' which meant moving same piece twice. When did the same I kept getting told it wasn't allowed! I also sometimes find most rules issues with adults are caused by players being taught a game wrong and the error spreads. Many a time I've found I've been playing a game wrong for years until someone points out the error or you notice it in the rules Commented Jun 3, 2018 at 21:31

1 Answer 1

2

According to a review of Trouble, not Double Trouble, which is a different game, on boardgamegeek.com, the player takes another turn. Which pegs, if any, a player can move on a turn is dependent on the die roll. Players have turns; pegs do not. The extra turn belongs to the player, not the peg.

https://boardgamegeek.com/video/120000/trouble/trouble-review-warp-and-double-trouble-additions

1
  • 2
    Would you be able to add a link to the review for reference? Commented Jun 13, 2018 at 8:40

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .