4

Can the Paladin get damage from the Trap card "Stink Bomb" if he is the first hero when activating the Trap?

I don’t have the exact card text, but from my memory (translated from the German edition) it says:

  1. Move the first hero to the last position (unless it’s a Paladin).
  2. The new first hero gets damage.

As the card says "new", it could be argued that it doesn’t damage the Paladin. The Paladin was and is the first hero, so he isn’t new at this position. Is this interpretation correct?

4
  • Is Stink Bomb from an expansion? It doesn't seem to exist in my original English edition of the game. Commented Jun 17, 2018 at 10:56
  • 1
    @PhilipKendall: Yes, it seems to be from the extension Festival Season (according to this card list).
    – unor
    Commented Jun 17, 2018 at 16:03
  • 1
    I'd never read it like that. The "new" is to clarify that they're not using the same reference to the "first hero", and that it should be whoever's actually first. I don't know the game context enough to answer specifically though!
    – Samthere
    Commented Jun 18, 2018 at 8:13
  • 1
    I would read the new first hero as the hero that is now in the first position. Probably it was the limited space on the card that led to the shorter but somewhat ambiguous wording. Commented Jun 20, 2019 at 13:28

1 Answer 1

1

As @Samthere said, the word new is to clarify they are refering to the character that is in the first position after the first effect of the card.

Anyway, let's go to the rulebook, page 17, Paladins:

The paladin is a special adventurer that is always at the front of the party. Any new warrior will push ahead of everyone but the paladin.


So the card specifies the Paladin won't move so it does not go against this primary rule, but the Paladin will take the damage anyway.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .