Let's say I have Blood Bairn and 3, 1/1 token creatures. An opponent attacks me with a 6/6 creature. If I use Blood Bairn's ability and sack all 3, 1/1 creatures and then block with Blood Bairn, after combat, the opponent creature should die and Blood Bairn survives. My question is this: at the end of his turn as Blood Bairn returns to a 2/2 creature, does it die because it took 6 damage from the previous combat?


Your Blood Bairn will survive.

This is because "Until end of turn" buffs and Damage are removed at the same time during the Cleanup-step.

514.2. Second, the following actions happen simultaneously: all damage marked on permanents (including phased-out permanents) is removed and all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack.

  • Would this be a different outcome in a multiplayer match if my turn was not the next turn after the above combat?
    – Legion413
    Jun 18 '18 at 18:54
  • @Legion413 Nope, Clean-up doesn't really care about who's turn it is now or next. All marked damage will be removed and all "until end of turn" effects will end, regardless of who owns/controls them.
    – Malco
    Jun 18 '18 at 18:57
  • Awesome. Thanks for the help with my question. I love this community!
    – Legion413
    Jun 18 '18 at 18:58
  • @Legion413 No problem, good first question. I recommend checking out the rules I linked for some more context and to better understand how cleanup works.
    – Malco
    Jun 18 '18 at 19:00
  • @Legion413 Also if you're satisfied with the answer, there's a check mark near the voting of the answer that allows you to accept it. In case you didn't know.
    – joedragons
    Jun 19 '18 at 15:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.