7

If you have an Inspiring Statuary on the field can you pay UU and tap two artifacts to play a kicked Into the Roil?

13

Yes, you improvise to pay the total costs of a spell and kicker is an additional cost.

This is per Comprehensive Rules:

702.125a Improvise is a static ability that functions while the spell with improvise is on the stack. “Improvise” means “For each generic mana in this spell’s total cost, you may tap an untapped artifact you control rather than pay that mana.”

Total cost is defined in the Casting Spells rules:

601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. (...)

And kicker is an additional cost:

702.32a Kicker is a static ability that functions while the spell with kicker is on the stack. “Kicker [cost]” means “You may pay an additional [cost] as you cast this spell.”

  • But isn't cost supposed to be paid before the spell is put on the stack? – Acccumulation Jun 20 '18 at 15:27
  • 5
    @Acccumulation: See rules 601.2a, 601.2f. First you put the spell on the stack, then you choose targets, then you determine the cost, and finally you pay the cost. – Dietrich Epp Jun 20 '18 at 16:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.