9

Let's pretend I have a vehicle (say, Smuggler's Copter) enchanted with a Siege Modification. This vehicle creature has not been crewed this turn. I also control a Neurok Transmuter and activate the second ability of the Transmuter, targeting the Copter.

The Copter is a creature due to the Modification.

As long as enchanted permanent is a Vehicle, it’s a creature in addition to its other types.

The Transmuter takes being an artifact away.

Until end of turn, target artifact creature becomes blue and isn’t an artifact.

Is the Copter still have the Vehicle type and therefore is a 6/3 blue creature? Or does not being an artifact mean not being a Vehicle, and therefore, the Copter is a blue permanent with no types, and the Modification falls off?

9

The Smuggler's Copter will stop being a vehicle and a creature, and the Siege Modification will fall off.

Rule 205.3g says

Artifacts have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called artifact types. The artifact types are Clue, Contraption, Equipment (see rule 301.5), Fortification (see rule 301.6), Treasure, and Vehicle (see rule 301.7).

And rule 205.1a says

Some effects set an object’s card type. In such cases, the new card type(s) replaces any existing card types. Counters, effects, and damage marked on the object remain with it, even if they are meaningless to the new card type. Similarly, when an effect sets one or more of an object’s subtypes, the new subtype(s) replaces any existing subtypes from the appropriate set (creature types, land types, artifact types, enchantment types, planeswalker types, or spell types). If an object’s card type is removed, the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also the subtypes of a card type the object currently has; otherwise, they are also removed for the entire time the object’s card type is removed. Removing an object’s subtype doesn’t affect its card types at all.

Once the artifact type is removed from the Smuggler's Copter, the vehicle subtype is no longer correlated with any of its remaining types, so the Vehicle subtype is removed for as long as the artifact type is removed. This means that Siege Modification's ability that makes the Copter a creature is no longer active, so it will also not be a creature. Since it is at that point neither a creature nor a vehicle, Siege Modification is not legally attached to it, so Siege Modification will go to the graveyard. Smuggler's Copter ends up as a typeless blue permanent.

  • 1
    If instead of Siege Modification, the Copter had just had its crew ability used; then it would still be a regular creature until end of turn after no longer being an artifact, correct? – GendoIkari Jun 20 '18 at 17:17
  • That is correct. The specific outcome here is caused is caused by the fact that Siege Modification's ability is conditional. – murgatroid99 Jun 20 '18 at 17:29
  • 1
    That said, you can still activate the vehicle's Crew ability even though it's already a creature. (It can even crew itself if you're really desperate). That will keep Seige Modification from falling off until end of turn when the Vehicle returns to being an artifact. – Arcanist Lupus Jun 20 '18 at 19:19
  • "the subtypes correlated with that card type will remain if they are also the subtypes of a card type the object currently has" Are there any subtypes that 'belong' to multiple card types? – xornob Jun 21 '18 at 7:38
  • The creature and tribal types have the same set of subtypes. The same is true of the instant and sorcery types. – murgatroid99 Jun 21 '18 at 15:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.