9

Most spells that exile a permanent temporarily, like Oblivion Ring or Fiend Hunter specify they return the permanent to the owner when the effect ends. Some of the newer ones like Seal Away do not say they return it to the owner.

Now I know if the permanent had been taken under temporary control from the owner, say Act of Treason or Word of Seizing the temporary effect ends, and it returns to the owner, but what happens if the effect was ongoing, say it was under temporary control then had Ghostly Flicker cast on it, or Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker's -2? Does the card return to the controller without the "end of turn" effect or does it return to the owner?

marked as duplicate by doppelgreener, Joe W, Benjamin Cosman, Toon Krijthe, Michael Snook Jun 24 '18 at 17:03

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • I think the answer still is back to the owner, but since they don't specify in cases like these, I am not totally sure. – Andrew Jun 22 '18 at 14:13
  • 1
  • Ah, I had thought that "exile until" was a continuous effect, so was looking without success at those rules. But I see now that it's actually 2 one-shot effects. – GendoIkari Jun 22 '18 at 14:26
  • It's note clear to me why your answer on that question isn't the exact same as the answer to this question. – GendoIkari Jun 22 '18 at 14:27
  • Your answer quotes this rule: "returns under its owner’s control unless otherwise specified" and your comment states "they don't specify in cases like these". So, it's not "otherwise specified". – GendoIkari Jun 22 '18 at 14:28
6

The Seal Away will return the creature under its owner's control: a permanent enters the battlefield under its owners control unless specified otherwise.

610 One-Shot Effects

610.1. A one-shot effect does something just once and doesn’t have a duration. Examples include dealing damage, destroying a permanent, creating a token, and moving an object from one zone to another.

...

610.3b An object returned to the battlefield this way returns under its owner’s control unless otherwise specified.

0

Blinking a creature will always return it to its owner's control unless specified otherwise. It does not matter whether or not a previously existing control-changing effect was permanent or time-limited.

There is no fundamental difference between a permanent (Nichol Bolas' -2 ability) and a temporary (Act of Treason) change of control. Both are continuous effects, one with a limited duration, the other without.

611.1. A continuous effect modifies characteristics of objects, modifies control of objects, or affects players or the rules of the game, for a fixed or indefinite period.

Either way, a blink ends that effect:

400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. [..]

Unless the blink effect creates its own, new control-changing effect (such as Ghostly Flicker), the permanent will return to the battlefield under its owner's control.

610.3b An object returned to the battlefield this way returns under its owner’s control unless otherwise specified.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.