Will the following cards kill something with "indestructible"?:


Indestructible means the permanent cannot be destroyed. Something would be destroyed if something says to destroy it, or if it takes lethal damage (e.g. a 3/3 takes 3 damage, or is dealt damage by something with deathtouch).

Terror and Wrath of God don't do anything to it. An indestructible creature isn't regenerating from destruction, it just isn't destroyed in the first place.

The common ways we remove an indestructible permanent are:

There are some oddball other methods, such as making it a non-issue (Song of the Dryads) or unable to participate meaningfully (Claustrophobia, Arrest), or making it lose its abilities (Snakeform, Gift of Tusks), or just lose indestructible specifically.

| improve this answer | |
  • 2
    There's also the option of using something like Claustraphobia or Arrest (similar to the aforementioned Song of the Dryads): you're not removing it, per se, but you're making it unusable. – John Doe Jun 28 '18 at 23:19
  • @JohnDoe Thanks for bringing that up, I'd forgotten about that category. :) – doppelgreener Jun 28 '18 at 23:23
  • you may want to add that the old keyword bury also means destroy. – Neil Meyer Jul 1 '18 at 12:17
  • @NeilMeyer It also sometimes meant sacrifice, so it's a bit messier than that. I'd rather not go there & just stick with recent rules concepts; all the cards here have errata anyway. – doppelgreener Jul 1 '18 at 14:27
  • You can also gain control of it ;) – BgrWorker Jul 5 '18 at 15:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.