1

In High Noon expansion, there is a card named Ghost Town:

During their turn, eliminated players return to the game as ghosts. They draw 3 cards instead of 2, and they cannot die. At the end of their turn, they are eliminated again.

Supposing that, when Gost Town is in play, there is an eliminated player with either Herb Hunter or Vulture Sam. When a ghost is eliminated, is the ability of these players triggered? i.e. Should Herb Hunter draws 2 extra cards whenever a ghost ends his/her turn?

For the sake of the question, this is the description of Herb Hunter:

Each time another player is eliminated, he draws 2 extra cards.

And this is the description of Vulture Sam:

Whenever a player is eliminated from play, he takes in hand all the cards of that player.

  • IMHO they are not triggered when a ghost dies because the eliminated players return to the game during their turn and not when Gost Town is played, but I'm not sure and I posted this question because me and my friends didn't agree on this point. – gvgramazio Jun 30 '18 at 12:18
  • Also, since it exist the tag bang-high-noon, it should also exist bang-dodge-city which Herb Hunter belongs to. I cannot create it since I don't have enough reputation. If some of you want to add it, he/she will be welcome. – gvgramazio Jun 30 '18 at 12:21
  • created the tag for you. – Joe W Jun 30 '18 at 12:52
3

Yes, according to a dodge city faq from the developer. It should be noted that when ghost town is in play players who have been eliminated are still considered eliminated and not part of the game when it is not their turn. If a player had been previously eliminated any abilities their character had will not activate unless it is their turn.

FAQ

Q15. How the ability of Greg Digger and Herb Hunter must be applied when a ghost leaves play due to the Ghost Town?
A. Each time a ghost leaves play, Greg Digger regains 2 life points while Herb Hunter draws 2 cards from the deck.

It should be noted that when ghost town is in play players who have been eliminated are still considered eliminated and not part of the game when it is not their turn. If a player had been previously eliminated any abilities their character had will not activate unless it is their turn.

  • Note that my question is about an eliminated player with Greg Digger or Herb Hunter. – gvgramazio Jun 30 '18 at 13:34
  • @gvgramazio I am not sure what it doesn't answer. The FAQ is stating that the rules for Greg Digger and Herb hunter work exactly the same when a player is brought back with ghost town as when they get eliminated normally. This also means that Vulture Sam works as normal with ghost town and would get all the cards from the player as normal. – Joe W Jun 30 '18 at 14:58
  • Sorry, I think that I wasn't clear enough in my question. Suppose that we have two eliminated players A and B. A comes before B and B is Greg Digger. When Ghost Town comes into play, A resurrects, plays and at the end of his/her turn got eliminated. Does the ability of Greg Digger trigger or not? In your answer, you suppose that Greg Digger isn't eliminated when Ghost Town comes into play. – gvgramazio Jun 30 '18 at 16:44
  • If you feel that I wasn't clear enough in my question, please, feel free to edit it. – gvgramazio Jun 30 '18 at 16:45
  • @gvgramazio I added some clarification to state that players are still eliminated and have no abilities while ghost town is in play if it is not their turn. – Joe W Jun 30 '18 at 17:16

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.