1

I attacked with 4/4 creature with first strike and life link.

My hubby blocked with his only card, a 2/2 with “when this creature is dealt damage, it deals 5 damage to target creature an opponent controls”. He chose to deal that damage to my attacking creature.

Can I then play an instant to give my creature +2/+2, so his damage does not kill my creature? (My attacking creature is 4/4).

4
  • Read up on how the stack works in the linked question. Th combat phase is not relevant to your question; you are basically asking if you are allowed to respond to a triggered ability with an instant, and the answer is yes. – GendoIkari Jul 2 '18 at 5:46
  • Also, the damage still kills your creature, since there is also the combatdamage to be considered. 2 + 5 = 7 > 6 = 4 + 2 – Erik Jul 2 '18 at 9:14
  • 1
    @ErikLohmann No, because the 4/4 has first strike, the 2/2 will never deal combat damage. – GendoIkari Jul 2 '18 at 13:51
  • Yeah, skipped that part, sorry. – Erik Jul 2 '18 at 14:22