6

This question already has an answer here:

If I have a Dack's Duplicate copying Jace, Vryn's Prodigy, can it transform into Jace, Telepath Unbound?

I imagine it would not — it would be similar to the rules for tokens right, it doesn't have the face to flip to, and in this case I would assume duplicate would just be exiled forever if it tried right?

marked as duplicate by doppelgreener, Malco, Glorfindel, Toon Krijthe, mmathis Oct 16 '18 at 20:02

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

8

You are correct about the outcome, but it is a different set of rules that deals with what happens here.

In the case of a Jace token, it can’t transform because tokens cannot exist outside of the battlefield, and can’t ever come back to the battlefield after leaving. With a non-token copy, we have this rule:

711.8a If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a double-faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.

So the Duplicate will remain in exile.

  • 2
    What if the copied card is in fact a flip card? For example, we are getting Metamorphic Alteration in M19. What if I enchant my delver of secrets, copying Nicol Bolas, The Ravanger. Then I pay the cost on Bolas(Previously a delver) to flip into Bolas Planeswalker? Not sure if this is a different question or not - so I'll comment for now. – Christopher Jul 2 '18 at 20:00
  • 1
    @Christopher That sounds like a separate (and good) question to me. – Kamil Drakari Jul 2 '18 at 20:15
  • 3
    I feel like you would end up putting Insectile Aberration into play, but please do ask a new question because I'm not sure! – GendoIkari Jul 2 '18 at 21:46

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.