4

enter image description here

My sister played the three circled letters on her turn. Is it legal?

12

Nope.

From the official rules (emphasis mine):

All letters played on a turn must be placed in one row across or down the board, to form at least one complete word. If, at the same time, they touch others letters in adjacent rows, those must also form complete words, crossword fashion, with all such letters. The player gets full credit for all words formed or modified on his or her turn.

So it is not legal to play those three tiles in a single turn, since they are not all in the same row or column.

Note, however, that "Fe" is a legal scrabble word. Your sister could legally play "Fee" across and form "Fe" down.

  • Is "Fe" a legal word because of the symbol for Iron? – DarkCygnus Jul 4 '18 at 22:27
  • 2
    According to the Scrabble dictionary it is "a Hebrew letter." – BJ Myers Jul 5 '18 at 3:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.