5

If Wild Pair is on the field when I cast a 5/5, and I use Wild Pair to put Enlisted Wurm into play, does Enlisted Wurm's cascade trigger?

Wild Pair: Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, if you cast it from your hand, you may search your library for a creature card with the same total power and toughness and put it onto the battlefield. If you do, shuffle your library.

Enlisted Wurm: Cascade (When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card that costs less. You may cast it without paying its mana cost. Put the exiled cards on the bottom of your library in a random order.)

11

No. Cascade triggers when the spell with Cascade is cast.

Casting a spell is different from putting a permanent into play. Casting a permanent spell puts that spell on the stack. When a permanent spell resolves, that permanent enters play. There are other ways of putting a permanent directly into play (like Wild Pair) that do not involve casting a spell.

3

Cascade does not trigger.

Searching the library and putting the card into play does not equal to casting a spell.

In Order to get the behaviour you're asking of, Wild Pairs triggered ability would have to be worded differently, e.g.:

Wild Pair: Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, if you cast it from your hand, you may search your library for a creature card with the same total power and toughness. You may cast it without paying its mana cost. If you do, shuffle your library.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.