3

Say we have 3 players, A, B, and C, in that turn order. Player A plays an instant or sorcery spell, player B has an Eye of the Storm, and player C has an Perplexing Chimera. So said spell goes on the stack, the Eye of the Storm trigger goes on the stack, and the Perplexing Chimera trigger goes on the stack. Player C decides to switch control of the spell and Perplexing Chimera between them and player A, so the spell is in control of player C. Now Eye of the Storm exiles the spell, and

Then that player copies each instant or sorcery card exiled with Eye of the Storm. For each copy, the player may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

Now is 'that player' player A, the one who casted and owns the spell/card, or player C, who took control of said spell?

6

The player who cast original the spell controls the copies of the exiled spells.

The full text of Eye of the Storm's ability says

Whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery card, exile it. Then that player copies each instant or sorcery card exiled with Eye of the Storm. For each copy, the player may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

There is only one possible antecedent for the phrase "that player" in that ability.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.